top of page

Hair growth cycle

Anagen Phase - The anagen phase is the first stage of the hair growth cycle known as the growth phase. It begins in the papilla and can last 13 weeks for eyebrows, and 4 to 6 weeks for eyelashes. The longer the hair stays in the anagen phase, the longer the hair will grow. During the anagen phase, the hair cells grow quickly. This is due to the supply of blood and nutrients feeding the hair cells that produce the hair.

Catagen Phase - The catagen phase is also known as the transitional phase. At this stage, the hair has stopped growing. This phase will last up to 3 weeks. During this time, the hair follicle shrinks and the papilla detaches. This cuts the hair off from the blood supply.

Telogen Phase - The telogen phase is also known as the resting phase. In this phase, the hair can be removed easily from the follicle for 4 to 6 weeks as it is loose and ready to shed. The hair follicle will begin to grow again as the new anlagen hair pushes up causing the old eyelash hair to fall away.

hair growth cycle
hair growth cycle


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page